Spark Studios: Hiring a Missionary Team

23rd Feb

4:00PM IST | 6:30PM SGT

“Hire missionaries, not mercenaries.”

Every startup is different. And the team you build in the early days has a large role to play in defining the culture, subsequent hires, and the future brand reputation of the company. Undoubtedly, the best company-builders want to work with the best, which is especially important in the early stages.

How can early-stage founders solve the problem of attracting and hiring the right talent? How can they leverage their limited resources while competing with large-budget brands to build the best team and foundation for their startup?

This Sequoia Spark studio hosted by Anirudh Bose Mullick (Recruiting & Human Capital, Sequoia India) will focus on:

  • Hiring the core team – what defines a core team and why is it a critical design choice in the early stages
  • How to assess candidates for potential and bias for action, and not just skills
  • Shared ownership – how to set the right incentive structures for attracting high-quality talent? Why is equity important?

The studio will take place on February 23rd, 4 PM – 5.15 PM IST | 5:30 pm – 6.45 PM JKT | 6:30 PM – 7.45 PM SGT

Sign ups closed. Stay tuned for future events.